Technology

Forgetting Wireless Networks in Microsoft Windows

Last modified 2/11/2022

When users connect to a wireless network, the Operating System creates a profile and stores the information for that connection. The wireless network information saved is the SSID (Service Set Identifier or the name of the network) and its security details (like the password and encryption it uses). If you do not want your device to remember a certain wireless connection, you must delete, or forget, its network profile, also known as 'Forgetting the Network.'

To Forget a Wireless Network:

  1. On your Desktop, navigate to the lower left-hand section of the screen, and type Wi-Fi into the Search field.
    1a.
    Make sure you are on your Desktop, and not using a Google or other Internet Search Engine.
  2. Wi-Fi Settings should populate after typing it into the search. Click the Wi-Fi Settings option.
  3. Click Wi-Fi in the left panel.
  4. Click Manage Known Networks (Figure 1).

    Figure 1:
    Manage Known Networks in Wi-Fi Settings
  5. Under Manage Known Networks, click on the Network you wish to forget, and then click Forget (Figure 2).

    Figure 2:
    Forget the Network option
  6. The Wireless Network's Profile and Connection Details are now deleted.


Needing Assistance?

For Technical Assistance, you can Submit a Help Ticket, or contact the Technology Support Center at (309) 438-4357 or by email at SupportCenter@IllinoisState.edu

Similar Articles