Technology

Forgetting Wireless Networks on a Mac

Last modified 2/11/2022

When users connect to a wireless network, the operating system creates a profile and stores the information for that connection. The wireless network information saved is the SSID (the name of the network) and its security details (like the password and encryption it uses). Forgetting wireless networks allow your computer to reset setting information, such as passwords, server, or configurations that may allow you to reconnect again.

Follow the instructions below to learn how to forget a wireless network in MacOS:

  1. Select the WiFi symbolWi-Fi Symbol for Macalong the top menu bar and click on Network Preferences at the bottom of the drop down menu.
  2. Click on Wi-Fi on the left-hand menu, if it is not selected for you already, and click Advanced located at the bottom right of the pop-up window (Figure 1).

    Figure 1:


  3. Select the Wi-Fi network you want to Forget, and then click the Minus Sign - button (Figure 2).


    Figure 2:
    Forgetting the Network interface

  4. Click the OK button, and then click the Apply button.


The Wireless Network's Profile and Connection Details are now deleted. You can now close the System Preferences window. 


Note:

You can also reconfigure which networks are connected to first by clicking and dragging the WiFi network to the top of this list. We suggest deleting any previously used ISU networks or moving ISUNet to the top of the list as your preferred wireless network for easy access to the internet.



Getting Help

For Technical Assistance, you can Submit a Help Ticket, or contact the Technology Support Center at (309) 438-4357, by email at ITHelp@ilstu.edu 

Similar Articles